West Africa Media Excellence Awards 2022: List of Finalists

Twenty-five journalists from eight countries have made the list of finalists for the 2022 edition of the prestigious West Africa Media Excellence Awards (WAMECA 2022).

The finalists were selected by a 5-member jury made up of distinguished and experienced media experts in Africa after a thorough review and assessment of the stories submitted by the journalists. This year, the Awards received 952 entries from all the 16 West African countries. The entries were filed by journalists from about 450 media organisations in the West Africa region.

The ultimate winners will be announced at the Awards event on Saturday, October 22, 2022, at the Alisa Hotel, Accra, Ghana. The event will be graced by media experts, high-level personalities and delegates from sub-regional bodies and civil society groups.

Below is the list of finalists for WAMECA 2022:

Yero S. Bah, Mansa Banko Online Newspaper, The Gambia

Nabole Ignace Ismael B., Burkina 24, Burkina Faso

Niyi Oyedeji,  International Centre for Investigative Reporting (The ICIR), Nigeria

Zainab Iyamide Joaque, Awoko Newspaper, Sierra Leone

Olatunji Ololade, The Nation, Nigeria

Komla Adom, TV3, Ghana

Gbenga Ogundare, The Nation, Nigeria

Dorice Djeton Goudou, Le pouce.info, Benin

Odinaka Anudu, The Punch, Nigeria

Francisca Enchill, Freelance, Ghana

Darcicio Francisco José Monteiro Barbosa, TV Bagunda, Guinea Bissau,

Olugbenga Adanikin, International Centre for Investigative Reporting (The ICIR), Nigeria

Emmanuel Kwasi Debrah, Multimedia Group Limited, Ghana

Adeola Oladipupo, Freelance, Nigeria

Bazoun Lomoussa, Courrier Confidential, Burkina Faso

 Amos Abba, International Centre for Investigative Reporting (The ICIR), Nigeria

Abdou Khadir Cisse, Dakaractu, Senegal

Oladeinde Olawoyin, Premium Times, Nigeria

Kwetey Nartey & Seth Kwame Boateng, Joy News, Ghana

Tessy Igomu, Punch Newspaper (Punch Healthwise), Nigeria

Daouda Sow, Medi1 TV Afrique, Senegal

Yusuf Akinpelu, Premium Times, Nigeria

Bassératou Kindo, Mousso News, Burkina Faso

Blessing I Enebeli, Voice of Nigeria, Nigeria

All finalists will receive a Certificate of Merit. Ultimate winners will receive plaques, certificates and cash prizes.

All the 25 finalists will also be inducted as fellows of the MFWA’s Journalism for Change Network and will be offered regular training opportunities both locally and internationally to enhance their capacity to influence positive change in society through journalism.

West Africa Media Excellence Conference and Awards (WAMECA 2022) is supported by the US Embassy in Ghana, US-based William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, MTN-Ghana, UNESCO and Stanbic Bank Ghana. The event is also supported by about 65 media partners across West Africa.

Join the 2022 West Africa Media Excellence Awards by registering here. Also, follow the event on all our social media pages.

For more details on the event, visit www.mfwa.org/wameca.

Contact Abigail Larbi-Odei (+233244867074) and Kwaku Krobea Asante (+233249484528) for media interviews.

Share this story!

Related Stories