WAMECA 2021: Call for Entries

The Media Foundation for West Africa (MFWA) is calling for entries for the 5th edition of the West Africa Media Excellence Conference and Awards (WAMECA).

WAMECA 2021 will be held on October 22 and 23 in Accra, Ghana, and will focus on the theme: Misinformation, Digital Media Regulation and Journalism in Africa.

The Awards are opened to journalists from print, electronic and online media in Anglophone, Francophone, and Lusophone countries in West Africa. An Applicant must be West African, working with and for a media organisation(s). An Entry for the Awards must have been published or broadcast between the period January 1 to December 31, 2020.

WAMECA 2021 will honour outstanding works of journalism in West Africa in the following categories:

Health Reporting

Environmental Reporting

Anti-Corruption Reporting

Investigative Reporting

Human rights Reporting

Business and SMEs Reporting

Telecoms and ICTs Reporting

Special Covid-19 Reporting


The deadline for the submission of the entries is on June 30, 2021, at 17.00 GMT. Finalists for WAMECA 2021 Awards will be announced on October 1, 2021.

Interested applicants should upload published works via the entry form on the website: www.mfwa.org/wameca. The entry should be an original work published through a media outlet in West Africa and must show the date of publication/broadcast and the medium in which the work was published. Applicants may submit entries to a maximum of two categories. For each category, a maximum of two entries is permitted.

Winners of the various categories will be announced at the West Africa Media Excellence Awards on October 23, at Swiss Spirit Alisa Hotel, Accra where the awards ceremony will be held. The Conference will feature sessions on topical journalism issues and also provide opportunities for networking among journalists, editors, and experts from West Africa.

Below are the important dates:

Opening of Entries – May 3, 2021

Deadline for submission of entries: June 30, 2021

Assessment of entries and selection of finalists: July 10 –August 30, 2021

Announcement of finalists: October 1, 2021

Conference: October 22, 2021

Awards Night: October 23, 2021

 Make your submission here.

For more information, visit www.mfwa.org/wameca or email us at wameca[@]mfwa.org or call the MFWA on +233 302 -555327

WAMECA is an initiative of the Media Foundation for West Africa (MFWA) to promote media excellence in the sub-region.

Share this story!

Related Stories