The second edition of the West Africa Media Excellence Conference and Awards (WAMECA) is slated for October 12 and 13, 2018 and will be held in Accra, Ghana.

WAMECA is an initiative of the Media Foundation for West Africa (MFWA) MFWA to promote media excellence in the sub region. The Conference will deliberate on key challenges to media development and explore ways in which stakeholders can effectively support the media to promote good governance, regional integration and peace in West Africa.

The Awards Ceremony will also honour West African journalists who have produced compelling works which have had significant impact on society. The Awards are opened to journalists from print, electronic and online media in Anglophone, Francophone and Lusophone countries in West Africa.

Applicants must be West African, working with and for media organisation(s) based in West Africa. An Entry for the Awards must have been published or broadcast between the period January 1 to December 31, 2017.

WAMECA 2018 will honour outstanding works of journalism in West Africa in the following categories:


  • Telecoms Reporting
  • ICTs Reporting
  • Oil and Gas Reporting
  • Banking and Finance Reporting
  • Business and SMEs Reporting
  • Environmental Reporting
  • SDGs Reporting
  • Investigative Reporting
  • Anti-Corruption Reporting
  • Human Rights Reporting
  • Health Reporting
  • ECOWAS and Regional Integration Reporting
  • Photo Journalism
  • Peace and Security Reporting

The deadline for the submission of the entries is on June 30, 2018 at 17.00 GMT. Finalists for WAMECA 2018 Awards will be announced on September 11, 2018.

Interested applicants should upload published works via the entry form on the website: www.mfwa.org/wameca. The entry should be an original work published through a media outlet in West Africa and must show date of publication/broadcast and the medium in which the work was published. Applicants may submit entries to a maximum of two categories. For each category, a maximum of two entries is permitted.

Finalists for the awards will be hosted at West Africa Media Excellence Conference on October 12-13 2018, where the awards ceremony will be held. The Conference will feature sessions on topical journalism issues and also provide opportunities for networking among journalists, editors, and experts from West Africa.

Below are the important dates:

Deadline for submission of entries: June 30, 2018

Assessment of entries and selection of finalists: August 30 2018

Announcement of finalists: September 11, 2018

Conference: October 12, 2018

Awards Night: October 13, 2018

For more information, visit www.mfwa.org/wameca or email us at wameca[@]mfwa.org or call the MFWA on +233 302 -242470

Make your submission here.

Share this story!

Related Stories