Niger

Niger

Niger a eu son indépendance de la France en 1960 et  sous un système de parti unique et un régime militaire jusqu’à 1991, quand Général Ali Saibou a été obligé par la pression publique à faire lieu pour les élections multipartites en 1993. Niger est un pays enclave avec les plus grands gisements d’uranium dans le monde qui sert comme un pilier de son économie. Niger est délimité par le Mali, le Tchad, le Nigeria et le Benin.

Vue d’ensemble du cadre des médias et FoE

En 2009, l’ingérence du gouvernement avec le régulateur des médias et une recrudescence  de l’intimidation des journalistes en utilisant des lois des tribunaux ont conduites à la détérioration du secteur de la liberté d’expression.  Apres la dissolution du Parlement en 2009, président Mamadou Tandja a réussi à supprimer les limites de durée de la présidence  et a retarde la prochaine élection présidentielle. Apres un referendum constitutionnelle, les medias a vu des améliorations importantes en 2011 sous le régime d’un nouveau président élu, Mahamoudou Issoufou. La constitution du Niger garantit la liberté d’expression mais ce qui n’est pas souvent respectée.

Parmi les instruments que le gouvernement utilise pour étouffer la liberté d’expression, est son contrôle des exigences pour obtenir permis des médias que les journalistes sont accrédités, un système judiciaire corrompu et une application agressive des lois sur la diffamation pénale; promouvant l’autocensure. En outre, les législations restrictives concernant les permis pour les médias et une taxe lourde sur les secteurs privés du média entravent développement dans ce secteur.

Le cadre de régulation juridique

L’environnement juridique des médias à la république du Niger est gouverné par la suite:

  • Articles 24 et 112 la constitution de1992
  • Décret No. 93-029 de 30 mars 1993 sur le régime de la liberté de la presse
  • Décret No. 99–67 de 20 décembre, 1999 sur le régime de la liberté de la presse
  • Articles 1, 4, 12, 15 et 37 de Décret No. 99–67 du 20 décembre, 1999
  • Order No. 93-031 of March 30, 1993
  • Article 2 de l’Ordre No. 93-031 du 30 mars, 1993
  • Article 30 de la Constitution de 2010 du Niger
  • Article 157 de la Constitution de 2010 du Niger
  • Article 158 de la Constitution de 2010 du Niger

Le travail de la MFWA au Niger

La MFWA continue à effectuer les reportages et la surveillance des medias, le renforcement des compétences et les interventions pour le développement des médias au Niger depuis 1997.

Niger

NigerNiger gained independence from France in 1960 and experienced single-party and military rule until 1991, when Gen. Ali Saibou was compelled by public pressure to make way for multi-party elections in 1993. Niger is a landlocked country with some of the world’s largest uranium deposits which serve as a backbone for the economy. Niger is bounded by Mali, Chad, Nigeria and Benin.

Overview of Media & FOE Environment

In 2009, government interference with the country’s media regulator and an upsurge in intimidation of journalists through the law courts led to the deterioration of the freedom of the press. After dissolving parliament in 2009, President Mamadou Tandja succeeded in removing the term limits of the presidency and delayed the next presidential election. After a constitutional referendum, Media freedom saw appreciable improvements in 2011 under the rule of the newly elected president, Mahamoudou Issoufou. Niger’s constitution guarantees freedom of expression but this is often not adhered to.

Among the instruments the government uses to strangle freedom of expression is its control of media licensing, requirement that journalists be accredited, a bias judiciary and an aggressive application of the criminal libel laws; promoting self-censorship. Also, restrictive press licensing legislations and a heavy tax on private media outlets hinder the development of the private media sector.

Regulation of the media is done by the Higher Council for Communication (CSC). The CSC issues all licenses and press credentials, and forms the Council of the Press: a journalism accrediting body. The CSC is the only body legally allowed to close media outlets and license television, radio, and newspaper reporting.

The National Communication Observatory (ONC) also regulates the media in Niger. The Niger Independent Monitoring Center for Media Ethics and Conduct was also formed to self-regulate the industry by monitoring broadcasts and publications.

Legal Regulatory Framework for Media Operation

The legal framework of the media in the Republic of Niger is governed by the following laws:

• Articles 24 and 112 of the 1992 Constitution

• Decree No. 93-029 of 30th March 1993 on the Press Freedom Regime

• Decree No. 99–67 of 20th December, 1999 on the Press Freedom Regime

• Articles 1, 4, 12, 15 and 37 of Decree No. 99–67 of 20th December, 1999

• Order No. 93-031 of March 30, 1993

• Article 2 of Order No. 93-031 of March 30, 1993

• Article 30 of the 2010 Constitution of Niger

• Article 157 of the 2010 Constitution of Niger

• Article 158 of the 2010 Constitution of Niger

MFWA’s work in Niger

The MFWA has been carrying out media rights monitoring reporting, media capacity building and media development interventions in Niger since 1997.