West Africa Media Excellence Awards 2020: List of Finalists

The Media Foundation for West Africa (MFWA) has announced the list of finalists for the 2020 edition of the prestigious West Africa Media Excellence Awards (WAMECA 2020).

This year’s event will be held on Saturday, November 14, at the Swiss Spirit Alisa Hotel, Accra, Ghana and will be graced by media experts, high-level personalities and delegates from sub-regional bodies and civil society groups.

The 2020 West Africa Media Excellence Awards received 740 entries from 13 countries in West Africa. The five-member jury after a thorough review of the entries shortlisted 20 finalists from six countries.

The shortlisted finalists for WAMECA 2020 are:

Moussa Ngom, La Maison Des Reporters, Senegal

Olatunji Ololade, The Nation Newspaper, Nigeria

Sawadogo Delvende Elza Sandrine Clotilde, L’Economiste du Faso, Burkina Faso

Kebba Ansu Manneh, The Chronicle Newspaper, The Gambia

Adwoa Adobea-Owusu, TV3, Ghana

Fisayo Soyombo, The Cable / ICIR, Nigeria

Elom Kossi Attissogbe, La Nouvelle Tribune, Togo

Oladimeji Ramon, The Punch Newspaper, Nigeria

Nombré  Souaibou, Les Editions Sidwaya, Burkina Faso

Beryl Ernestina Richter, Joy News, Ghana

Innocent Duru, The Nation Newspaper, Nigeria

Baguiri Chamszou-Dinner, Radio Arzèkè, Benin

Akodia Ezékiel Ada, L’Observateur Paalga, Burkina Faso

Kelechukwu Iruoma, Ripples Nigeria, Nigeria

Manasseh Azure Awuni, Freelance Journalist, Ghana

Kemi Busari, PREMIUM TIMES, Nigeria

Yvette Zongo, Les Éditions Lefaso, Burkina Faso

Solomon Joojo Cobbinah, Joy News, Ghana

Funke Busari, PREMIUM TIMES, Nigeria

Dimitri Ouedraogo, Lefaso.net, Burkina Faso

The winners for the various categories including the West African Journalist of the Year will be announced at the Awards event.

All finalists will receive a Certificate of Merit. Ultimate winners will receive plaques, certificates and cash prizes.

All 20 finalists will also be inducted as fellows of the MFWA’s Journalism for Change Network and will be offered regular training opportunities both locally and internationally to enhance their capacity to influence positive change in society through journalism.

West Africa Media Excellence Conference and Awards (WAMECA 2020 is supported by MTN-Ghana, the US Embassy in Ghana, OSIWA and Stanbic Bank. The event is also supported by about 65 media partners across West Africa.

Join the  2020 West Africa Media Excellence Awards by registering here. Also follow the event on all our social media pages.

For more details on the event, visit www.mfwa.org/wameca.

Share this story!

Related Stories