WAMECA 2023: Call for entries

The Media Foundation for West Africa (MFWA) is calling for entries for the 7th edition of the West Africa Media Excellence Conference and Awards (WAMECA).

WAMECA 2023 will be held from October 19 – 21 in Accra, Ghana, and will focus on the theme: Media and Democracy in Africa.

The first two days of the event will be dedicated to discussing various topics under the theme while the last day will be for the annual awards, which honours excellent and impactful works of journalism in West Africa.

Participants in this year’s event will deliberate on the current democratic recession in Africa and come out with actionable recommendations to mobilize a continent-wide response to the rollback.

The Awards are opened to journalists from print, electronic and online media in Anglophone, Francophone, and Lusophone countries in West Africa. An applicant must be West African, working with and for a media organisation(s) based in the sub-region.

An entry for the Awards must have been published or broadcasted between the period January 1 to December 31, 2022.

WAMECA 2023 will honour outstanding works of journalism in West Africa in the following categories:

Human Rights Reporting

Investigative Reporting

Anti-Corruption Reporting

Environmental Reporting

Health Reporting

Telecoms and ICTs Reporting

Business and SMEs Reporting

Migration Reporting

Women Empowerment Reporting

Oil and Gas Reporting

The deadline for the submission of the entries is on June 30, 2023, at 17.00 GMT. Finalists for WAMECA 2023 Awards will be announced on October 3, 2023.

Interested applicants should upload published works via the entry form on the website: www.mfwa.org/wameca. The entry should be an original work published through a media outlet in West Africa and must show the date of publication/broadcast and the medium in which the work was published. Applicants may submit entries to a maximum of two categories. For each category, a maximum of two entries is permitted.

Winners of the various categories will be announced at the West Africa Media Excellence Awards on October 21 in Accra where the awards ceremony will be held.

Below are the important dates:

Opening of Entries – May 3, 2023

Deadline for submission of entries: June 30, 2023

Assessment of entries and selection of finalists:  August 1-September 30, 2023

Announcement of finalists: October 3, 2023

Conference: October 19 -20, 2023

Awards Night: October 21, 2023

 Make your submission here.

For more information, visit www.mfwa.org/wameca or email us at wameca[@]mfwa.org or call the MFWA on +233 302 -555327

WAMECA is an initiative of the Media Foundation for West Africa (MFWA) to promote media excellence in the sub-region.

Share this story!

Related Stories